Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday, March 24

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday, March 24

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Thursday:

SOCCER

Asian World Cup qualifiers

p> Australia tackle Tajikistan & complacency

Asian champions Australia are determined to qualify for the 2018 World Cup in style after scraping into the 2014 tournament so a comfortable victory over Tajikistan in Adelaide will be expected in the penultimate match of the penultimate round of the campaign. (SOCCER-WORLD/ASIA-AUSTRALIA, expect by 1100 GMT/7 AM ET, 300 words)

Asian heavyweights seek to avoid last day nerves

The penultimate match day in the second round of Asian World Cup qualifiers sees Australia host Tajikistan & Japan welcome Afghanistan as the duo look to book an spot early in the next phase of the Road to Russia 2018. (SOCCER-WORLD/ASIA, expect by 1600 GMT/12 PM ET, by Patrick Johnston, 450 words).

African Nations Cup qualifiers

Madagascar v Central African Republic (1130)

Comoros v Botswana (1200)

Djibouti v Liberia (1300)

Ghana v Mozambique (1530)

Xavier leads Mozambique for first time

JOHANNESBURG – Ghana host Mozambique who will be led by coach Abel Xavier, the former Liverpool & Everton defender, for the first time. (SOCCER-AFRICA/NATIONS, expect by 1730 GMT/13:30 PM ET, by Mark Gleeson, 250 words)

Internationals

Turkey v Sweden

Ukraine v Cyprus

Czech Republic v Scotland

Italy v Spain

Wales v Northern Ireland

We will have coverage of all the above matches. (SOCCER-FRIENDLY-TEAM/ expect throughout)

Italy bid to end poor run against Spain

UDINE, Italy – Italy, who have not beaten Spain in their last four meetings, attempt to end their poor run against the European champions when they meet at the recently-rebuilt Stadio Friuli. (SOCCER-ITALY/, expect by 2200 GMT/6 PM ET, 300 words)

CRICKET

World Twenty20 (to April 3)

Teams take stock on rest day at World Twenty20

NEW DELHI – It is a rest day at the World Twenty20 before South Africa face West Indies & Australia meet Pakistan on Friday. (CRICKET-WORLD/, expect throughout, 400 words)

TENNIS

ATP/WTA: Miami Open (to 3)

Mahut, Baghdatis eye berths to second round

Frenchman Nicolas Mahut faces Japanese qualifier Tatsuma Ito while Cypriot Marcos Baghdatis faces German qualifier Benjamin Becker in men's first-round action at the Miami Open. (TENNIS-MIAMI/MEN, expect by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, 400 words)

Serena begins quest for record ninth Miami title

Serena Williams opens her quest for a fourth consecutive & record ninth overall Miami title with a second-round match against American compatriot Christina McHale. In other women's action, third-seeded Pole Agnieszka Radwanska faces France's Alize Cornet while fifth-seed Simona Halep of Romania faces Russia's Daria Kasatkina. (TENNIS-MIAMI/WOMEN, expect by 2330 GMT/7:30 PM ET, 400 words)

GOLF

Partnering Pettersen is Olympic dream for Martens

LONDON It may be a fanciful notion yet Norwegian professional Caroline Martens is being driven this year by a powerful desire to play at the Olympics alongside her compatriot & close friend Suzann Pettersen. (GOLF-WOMEN/MARTENS (INTERVIEW), moving at 1000 GMT/6 AM ET, by Tony Jimenez, 600 words)

PGA Tour: WGC-Dell Match Play Championship, Austin (to 27)

Spieth duels with Dubuisson in Match Play

World number one Jordan Spieth faces France's Victor Dubuisson, defending champion Rory McIlroy battles American Smylie Kaufman, & second-ranked Jason Day, who tweaked his back in an opening day victory, goes against Thai veteran Thongchai Jaidee at the WGC-Dell Match Play tournament at the Austin Country Club. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), expect by 0030 GMT/8:30 PM ET, 400 words)

Puerto Rico Open (to 27)

Cejka begins title defense in Puerto Rico

Defending champion Alex Cejka of Germany & former world number one Luke Donald are among those in the field when first round action of the Puerto Rico Open gets underway at Coco Beach Golf Club. (GOLF-PGA/PUERTORICO, expect by 0030 GMT/8:30 PM ET, 250 words)

BASKETBALL

Lokomotiv & Red Star clash for Euroleague playoff berth

BELGRADE – Lokomotiv Krasnodar meet Red Star Belgrade in the Euroleague knowing a place in the playoffs will be up for grabs with two games to spare. (BASKETBALL-EUROLEAGUE/, expect by 2300 GMT/7 PM ET, by Zoran Milosavljevic, 400 words)

HORSE RACING

World Cup often produces home victory

DUBAI – The $10 million Dubai World Cup has often produced a home victory with horses owned by Emirate ruler Sheikh Mohammed or other family members winning 10 of the 20 previous editions. (HORSE RACING-DUBAI/, expect by 1400 GMT/10 AM ET, by Matt Smith, 400 words)

OLYMPICS

BMX

Australia's Buchanan seeking Rio redemption

MELBOURNE – Australian BMX champion Caroline Buchanan is determined to make up for her lost chance at the London Games when she hits the Rio dirt. (OLYMPICS-BMX/BUCHANAN (INTERVIEW), expect by 0900 GMT/4 AM ET, by Ian Ransom, 500 words)

RUGBY

BUENOS AIRES – Managing Argentina's Jaguares in Super Rugby is turning into the edge-of-your-seat ride that New Zealander Greg Peters found too complex to resist when he was tempted to take a top job in the Argentine Rugby Union. (RUGBY UNION-ARGENTINA/PETERS (INTERVIEW), moved, by Rex Gowar, 600 words) (Asia desk editor: Greg Stutchbury)

Sports & Recreation2018 World CupBaghdatis

Source: “Reuters”

Share and Enjoy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *