Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday, March 6

Reuters Sports Schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday, March 6

Reuters sports schedule at 0600 GMT on Sunday:

SOCCER

Premier League

p> Crystal Palace v Liverpool (1330)

West Bromwich Albion v Manchester United (1600)

United target win at West Brom, Liverpool visit Palace

LONDON – Manchester United & Liverpool, who clash in the Europa League next week, must first tackle lowly West Bromwich Albion & Crystal Palace respectively as they chase European qualifying spots for next season. (SOCCER-ENGLAND/ (PIX), expect from GMT/ AM ET, by Martyn Herman & Ed Osmond, 600 words)

La Liga

Real Betis v Granada CF (1100)

Eibar v Barcelona (1500)

Real Sociedad v Levante (1715)

Sporting Gijon v Athletic Club (1715)

Valencia v Atletico Madrid (1930)

Barca out to extend record, maintain lead

MADRID – Barcelona will be looking to extend their Spanish record matches unbeaten streak in all competitions to 36 matches & maintain their eight-point lead over Atletico Madrid when they visit Eibar. (SOCCER-SPAIN/ (PIX), expect by 1730 GMT/12:30 ET, 400 words)

Bundesliga

Mainz v SV Darmstadt 98 (1430)

Hamburg SV v Hertha Berlin (1630)

Hertha out to tighten hold on third spot

BERLIN – Third-placed Hertha Berlin travel to Hamburg SV, hoping for a win to restore their four-point buffer over Schalke 04 in fourth. (SOCCER-GERMANY/ (PIX), expect by 1830 GMT/1:30 PM ET, by Karolos Grohmann, 400 words)

Serie A

Torino v Lazio (1130)

Atalanta Bergamo v Juventus

Bologna v Carpi

Frosinone v Udinese

Genoa v Empoli

Sassuolo v AC Milan

Inter Milan v Palermo (1945)

Juve look to go clear in Serie A

MILAN – The pressure is on Juventus to beat Atalanta away & restore their three-point lead at the top of the Serie A table following second-place Napoli's win over Chievo on Saturday, while fifth-place Inter Milan host struggling Palermo.(SOCCER-ITALY/ (PIX), expect by 1600 GMT/11:00 AM ET, by Ed Dove, 400 words)

Dutch championship

NEC Nijmegen v Heracles Almelo (1130)

AZ Alkmaar v Excelsior (1330)

Roda JC Kerkrade v Vitesse Arnhem (1330)

Willem II Tilburg v Ajax Amsterdam (1330)

Feyenoord v SC Cambuur (1545)

Ajax under pressure to keep pace with leaders PSV

AMSTERDAM – Ajax Amsterdam, who visit Willem II Tilburg, are in the spotlight as they try to catch PSV Eindhoven, who extended their lead to four points by winning away on Saturday. (SOCCER-DUTCH/, expect by 1800 GMT/ 1 PM ET, 250 words)

TENNIS

Davis Cup

Australia v United States, Melbourne

Isner puts United States through to Davis Cup quarter-finals

MELBOURNE – John Isner fended off Australia's Bernard Tomic 6-4 6-4 5-7 7-6(4) on Sunday to book the United States a berth in the Davis Cup quarter-finals for the first time in three years. (TENNIS-DAVIS/AUSTRALIA-USA, moved, 250 words)

GOLF

PGA Tour: WGC-Cadillac Championship, Miami (to 6)

McIlroy takes three-shot lead at Doral

Rory McIlroy again benefited from his new putting grip as he overhauled halfway leader Adam Scott to move three strokes clear after the third round of the WGC-Cadillac Championship in Miami on Saturday. (GOLF-PGA/ (PIX), moved, 400 words)

Trump casts shadow over Doral's future as a PGA Tour venue

Republican presidential candidate Donald Trump has cast a strong shadow over the WGC-Cadillac Championship in Miami, even though he has yet to make an appearance at this week's edition as owner of the hosting venue. (GOLF-PGA/TRUMP, (FEATURE), moved, by Mark Lamport-Stokes, 550 words)

LPGA Tour: HSBC Women's Champions, Singapore

Jang edges ahead in Singapore after bogey-free day

SINGAPORE – Jang Ha-na takes a one-shot lead into the final round of the HSBC Women's Champions tournament after the Korean edged ahead of her playing partners to remain on course for a second LPGA title in her last four starts. (GOLF-LPGA/, expect by 0900 GMT/4 AM ET, by John O'Brien, 400 words)

RUGBY

Las Vegas Sevens, Las Vegas

Sevens heavyweights aim for third straight wins in Vegas

New Zealand, South Africa & Australia all look to remain unbeaten in the final round of pool play in the World Series before they head into the quarter-finals at Sam Boyd Stadium in the fifth stop on the 10-tournament circuit. (RUGBY-SEVENS/VEGAS, expect end-of-day wrap by 0400 GMT/11 PM ET, 400 words)

Burgess returns to warm embrace of Australian league

SYDNEY – After a turbulent 18 months in rugby union during which he became a scapegoat for England's World Cup woes, Yorkshireman Sam Burgess returns to rugby league & the South Sydney Rabbitohs in the round one local derby against Sydney Roosters. (RUGBY LEAGUE-AUSTRALIA/BURGESS, expect by 0800 GMT/3 AM ET, by Nick Mulvenney, 300 words)

CYCLING

Trott-Hammer clash headlines final day

LONDON – The final day of action at the London velodrome features Britain's Olympic omnium champion Laura Trott battle American Sarah Hammer while Bradley Wiggins & Mark Cavendish team up in the Madison. The women's sprint & men's keirin golds will moreover be decided (CYCLING-WORLD/, PIX, expect from 1500 GMT/10 AM E.T, by Martyn Herman, 400 words)

CRICKET

South Africa v Australia, second Twenty20

South Africa seek series win at The Wanderers

JOHANNESBURG – South Africa can clinch the three-match series against Australia with victory in game two on what is expected to be a flat batting wicket at The Wanderers. (CRICKET-SAFRICA/(PIX), expect by 1600 GMT/11 AM ET, 200 words)

Top-ranked India meet hosts Bangladesh in Asia Cup final

DHAKA – India, ranked number one in the world in the shortest format, will look to continue their strong run ahead of this month's World Twenty20 when they take on hosts Bangladesh in the final of the Asia Cup in Mirpur. (CRICKET-ASIA/, expect by 1700 GMT/12 PM ET, 300 words)

NBA

Lebron dominates as Cavs crush Celtics

LeBron James led eight Cavaliers in double-figures with 28 points & reached two more milestones in his illustrious career while Cleveland crushed the Boston Celtics 120-103 on Saturday night. (NBA-CAVALIERS/, moved, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

Ginobili's return sparks Spurs to latest win

Despite the fact the San Antonio Spurs went 11-1 while Manu Ginobili was out with an injury, there is no doubt approximately the importance of the 13-year NBA veteran to the team's run toward another championship. (NBA-SPURS/, moved, by The Sports Xchange, 400 words)

Pistons, Bulls, Wizards in battle for last playoff spot

The Detroit Pistons, Chicago Bulls & Washington Wizards face the Knicks, Rockets & Pacers respectively in their tight battle for the last playoff berth in the Eastern Conference in three of the eight games on the National Basketball Association schedule. (NBA-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0630 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 600 words)

NHL

California rivals clash in Los Angeles

Captain Ryan Getzlaf & the Anaheim Ducks take their 10-game win streak on the road when they visit Drew Doughty & the Los Angeles Kings to settle a tie atop the Pacific Division in one of 11 games on the National Hockey League schedule. (NHL-HIGHLIGHTS/, expect by 0630 GMT/1:30 AM ET, by The Sports Xchange, 750 words)

NORTH AMERICAN SPORTS

Roundups of off-field developments in the major North American professional sports leagues. (expect by 0101 GMT/8:01 PM ET, 500 words) (Asia desk editor: Nick Mulvenney)

Sports & RecreationManchester UnitedWest Bromwich AlbionAtletico MadridHertha BerlinEuropa LeagueAustraliaAjax AmsterdamUnited States

Source: “Reuters”

Share and Enjoy

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *